Ayrshire History
[ Home ] Articles ] Bibliography ] Links ] About ] Search ] Research Postings ]

Home Page


What's new - and an apology for some omissions?     

Ayrshire is a county on the west coast of Scotland, on the shores of the Firth of Clyde.  It has not been an administrative unit since 1975, when, under regionalisation, it became part of the Region of Strathclyde and was divided into four districts:  Cumnock and Doon Valley; Cunninghame; Kilmarnock and Loudoun; and Kyle and Carrick.  In 1996, under a further reorganisation of local government in Scotland, Strathclyde region and its Districts were swept away, and Ayrshire was divided into three districts: East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, and South Ayrshire.

The subject matter of the Ayrshire History Web Site is the history of the county and its people, and the local history of its parishes, towns and villages.

Site last edited: 02 September 2001.

Back to top